I Survived Week 1 Working in the O.R.!

I survived my first official week in the O.R. What a crazy week. I was so nervous. By the end of the week, my preceptor was so impressed by how far I’ve already come with my progress. She tells me something once & doesn’t have to tell me again. I’m moving quicker. Communicating more. Using my critical thinking more. Keeping one step ahead of the doctor as much as I can. Continuing to always keep moving… Working on all those little things that I have struggled with. It’s crazy how far I’ve already come in only 5 days.

I’ve mostly been doing general cases, which have been the busiest!

Day 1: Float in AM
1- L. Breast Lumpectomy with Sentinel Node Biopsy
2- L. Inguinal Hernia

Day 2:
1- R. Axillary Cyst Excision
2- Lap. Chole. ICG
3- R. Axillary Mass Excision
4- Rectal Exam

Day 3:
1- BMT
2- BMT
3- Septoplasty
4- Emergency Wound Debridement, R. Thigh
5- Emergency Incarcerated Inguinal Hernia
6- Pleurx Catheter Placement

Day 4:
1- Simple Mastectomy
2- Hemorrhoidectomy

Day 5:
1- Port Revision & replacement
2- Emergency Lap Appy.
3- Emergency Lap Chole. (it took us 2 hours! Was a rough case)

It’s been quite the journey so far! Really enjoying it & learning so much. I can’t believe how much progress I’ve already made in these last 5 days. Monday I have more ENT cases.

Now I’m going to enjoy my weekend & hope it lasts forever! HA

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a comment