I Survived Week 2 Working in the O.R.!

This second week went really fast! I thought being new and learning all these new things, it would drag by so slowly, but it went by like a flash! Friday ended early since we only had 5 cases, 4 of them being mine. Then my coworkers invited me out to lunch, which lasted for several hours. It was fun getting to hang out with them outside of work & get to know them a bit better & just relax & have fun.

WEEK 2
6/27/22:
1- T&A (Tech set up/I scrubbed)
2- Excision R. ear lesion
3- T&A
4- R. endo. anterior ethmoidectomy R. endo. maxillary antrostomy w/tissue & navigation (Tech set up/I scrubbed)
5- Excision R. ear lesion
6- Sacral wound debridement w/bone bx

6/28/22:
1- Lap. Umbilical Hernia Repair
2- Inguinal Hernia Repair
3- Sacral Debridement w/bone bx
4- Power Port Placement

6/29/22: (we had an emergency surgery from around 10pm-8:30am & our whole schedule was messed up)
1- Bil. removal of cerumen
2- L. TKA w/wound dehiscence (tech set up & I watched)
3- Lap. Bil. Inguinal hernia repair w/umbilical repair

6/30/22:
1- Pre-op stents/Lap. Sigmoidectomy – converted to open (7:30-12:33pm) (my tech set up & passed. I scrubbed in & closed)
2- Rectal Exam with Botox
3- Umbilical hernia repair
4- Lipoma excision from neck (canceled)

7/1/22:
1- Umbilical Hernia Repair
2- Lap. Hernia Repair – converted to open (they opened/I set up)
3- Hickman (another tech set up for me)
4- Port Placement (another tech set up for me)
Everyone was super nice since I had all of the cases, except for one. They cleaned up my stuff while I scrubbed in & set things up for the next case or got familiar with how they set it up for me)

out early at 11:30pm – went out for drinks/lunch until 3:30

This was our cerumen removal. This little kid had huge pieces of cerumen in his ears. We pretty much just did a BMT minus the cutting & tubes. We did end up putting ear drops & cotton in the ears.
We have been doing a lot of hernias! Both open & Lap.
we had a patient fall & bust their new knee they had done for the 3rd time. Had to take staples out & do a wound debridement & replace their implant. I watched this since I haven’t done one of these & there was a lot going on.
This was part of the sigmoid surgery. We placed stents so we could ID the ureters & move them out of the way.

Tuesday I go take my NBSTSA exam, finally! So, I have a 4-day weekend, so that’s nice. Just need to study!

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a comment